Study Leave

 

List of approved study leave course 

1 Mandatory

2 Strongly recommended

3 Desirable

Elements that must be completed to meet the curriculum requirements

Courses/ costs identified as the best means to achieve curriculum requirements

Courses/ costs identified for educational benefit to a trainee’s portfolio

MRCPCH

RCPCH Annual Conference

Respiratory GRID - BPRS membership

FOP

 

PICM GRID - PICS masterclass

TAS

Cranial Ultrasound Course

RCPCH Effective educational supervision

AKP

Attendance at RCPCH Annual Scientific Meeting

Professional and generic skills course

Clinical

Paediatric epilepsy training level 1

Safeguarding report writing

RCPCH START assessment

Paediatric epilepsy training level 2

Simulation leader training

APLS (or equivalent)

Generic instructor course (eg APLS, NLS)

International conferences

NLS (or equivalent)

Respiratory GRID - Bronchoscopy course

 

Child Protection: Recognition and Response (or equivalent level 1 training)

PICM GRID - European Trauma Course

 

Level 2 safeguarding training

Rheumatology GRID  specialty course

 

Level 3 safeguarding

Neurology GRID - British Paediatric Neurology Association Annual Conference

Paediatric Neurology Trainees Meeting

Neurology grid –

BPNA distance learning modules

NeoNATE – neurology

ChAT headache course

ST1 induction day

Endocrinology GRID - BSPED conference

 

Regional study days (level specific)

Neonates GRID - BAPM Conference

 

Regional Simulation Programme

Gastroenterology GRID - Endoscopy course

 

       Key Competences

CCH GRID Standardised development course (range available)
Autism Diagnostic Observation Schedule

 

       Step up to registrar

Attendance at RCPCH Annual Scientific Meeting

 

       Neonatal step-up

Paediatric epilepsy training level 1

 

       Confidence in paediatric emergencies

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

With effect from the 1st April 2015 trainees need to apply to their employing Trust for all study leave requests and claims. The Trusts within Severn PGME now administer your study leave budget. Please look at your Trust PGME processes for more details of how to apply for study leave (we have put some local contacts below).

You can see the Severn PGME study leave policy here.

 

Contacts by Trust: 

UHB

Kirsty Andrews

Deputy Medical Education Manager

kirsty.andrews@uhbristol.nhs.uk

Tel No 0117 342 0058

Tracey Newman

Study Leave Co-ordinator

tracey.newman@uhbristol.nhs.uk

Tel No 0117 342 0054

Suzan Fowweather

Medical Education Manager

suzan.fowweather@uhbristol.nhs.uk

0117 342 0065

 

North Bristol Trust

Julie Vernon

julie.vernon@nbt.nhs.uk

Donna Paddon

donna.paddon@nbt.nhs.uk

0117 323 6157

 

Glos and Cheltenham

Samantha Taylor

Samantha.taylor@gwh.nhs.uk

0300 4223038

 

Yeovil

Hayley Gibson

Hayley.Gibson@YDH.NHS.UK

Sam Vickery

Sam.Vickery@YDH.NHS.UK

 

Taunton

Rosemarie Clark

Medical Education Co-ordinator

Email: Rosemarie.Clark@tst.nhs.uk or Postgrad.Centre@tst.nhs.uk

Tel: 01823 342432 or 01823 342430

 

Swindon

Trish Reeves

Medical Education Manager

Trish.reeves@gwh.nhs.uk

01793 604211

Sheree Mapstone

Senior Medical Education Administrator

Sheree.mapstone@gwh.nhs.uk

01793 604165

Lauren Turner

Medical Education Administrator (lead)

Lauren.turner@gwh.nhs.uk

 RUH Bath

Kelly Tillson

PGMC Manager

kelly.tillson@nhs.net

 

Gillie Atkins

Medical Education Co-ordinator

 gillie.atkins@nhs.net