2018 Annual School Dinner and Awards

On the 15th November 2018, the School of Paediatrics came together for a conference during the day followed by the Annual Dinner and Awards in the evening.

The conference was held at UWE and included a range of fascinating presentations and workshops.  David Evans, RCPCH Vice President for Training and Assessment, spoke about the future shape of paediatric training.  Neky Sargant spoke passionately about adolescent medicine and how we can advocate for improved healthcare services for young people.  We were introduced to County Lines by Mike Menzies, an issue we should all be aware of in the social context of children and young adults in our care.

Trainees led workshops on out of programme opportunities, developing research capabilities, rights and responsibilities and professional development.

In the evening, our annual school dinner was held at the Avon Gorge Hotel in Bristol.  We were delighted that the RCPCH President, Professor Russell Viner, was able to join us to present this year's Paediatric Awards for Training Achievement (PAFTA) to the winners.

This year, nominations were open to everyone and judged by a panel that included previous winners, a patient and public representative, and training programme directors.

The categories were:

Best Junior Trainee (ST1-3)

Best Senior Trainee (ST4-8)

Best Educational Supervisor

Best Training Environment


Best Junior Trainee nominees were:

Holly Mincher
Sarah Blakey
Sarah Oram
Rachel Macleod
Karthik Darmasseelane
Gemma Fisher
Gemma Gough

And the winner was...  Karthik Darmasseelane


Best Senior Trainee nominees were:

Liam Mahoney
Kim Blackwell
Clare Salter
Sarah Dawkins
Leena Patel
Philippa Bowen
Rose Marion
Alice Lawford
Paul Cawley

And the winner was...  Rose Marion


Best Educational Supervisor nominees were:

Tom Hilliard
Carol Inward
Fiona Finlay
Dan Magnus

And the winner was...  Tom Hilliard


And best Training Environment was awarded to the Emergency Department, Bristol Royal Hospital for Children.